Tag Archives: Five Stages of Grief

Overcoming Grief with the Help of Online Therapy

Five Stages of Grief - Online Therapy

No one can prepare you for the inexplicable heartbreak that accompanies grief.

Mourning and grief are natural responses to a number of factors, including:

1. Loss of a relationship

2. Death of a loved one – human or animal

3. Diagnosis of terminal illness

Though all things improve with time, for many, grief can cause an individual to enter a very deep depression.

Generally speaking, a person in mourning will go through five different stages of grief. These don’t necessarily occur in the order listed, and can vary in severity:

  1. Denial
  2. Anger
  3. Negotiation
  4. Depression
  5. Acceptance

If you find yourself falling deeper into this dark hole, counseling is one of the most helpful things you can seek out to help you through this difficult time. Though nothing will make the pain go away, a therapist can help you cope with the way your life will change as a result of the triggering news, and how to enjoy your life again.

Continue reading